Warrior Spotlight- Ms. Scurlock

By Shriya Tripathi

For this month’s Warrior Spotlight, Ms. Scurlock, an art teacher at Henrico High, has been chosen! Ms. Scurlock is known among her students to be an encouraging teacher with a genuine passion for the arts.

According to former Henrico High student, Ryan Heacock, “She was super supportive. She was always really into my art and wanted me to be successful.”

Ms. Scurlock also has an affinity for the color chartreuse. “One thing that she actually loves is the color chartreuse.” Heacock added, “She would look at your painting and say, ‘oh just add a little chartreuse’”.

Though students know her foremost as a teacher, Ms. Scurlock has led a fascinating life outside the walls of HHS.

1. Where were you born?

I was born and raised in Norfolk VA.

2. What are your dreams?

My dream is to travel every summer. I manage to achieve this dream most every year. This coming summer I will be going to Croatia, Venice, Italy (to see the Venice biennale an international art show that happens every other year) and finally end up in Paris.

3. What is your teaching background? How long have you taught for?

I have been teaching for 20 years.  I originally received a degree in Painting and Printmaking from VCU and when I decided to teach, I added on the credits I needed to teach.  My only teaching job has been at Henrico High School. I teach in both the CFA and IB programs.

4. Are you involved in any clubs at

I am the sponsor of the National Art Honor Society and Art Club.

In addition to being a teacher, Ms. Scurlock is an artist herself, “I am a working artist and presently have a show at Quirk Gallery in downtown Richmond”.

Ms. Scurlock’s art show will be at Quirk Gallery until February 19th and her paintings are available for viewing on her website (maryscurlock.com).

Leave a Reply

